ASUU Awards Indigent Students Scholarships

Twenty two (22) Students were awarded Scholarships under the ASUU Indigent students scholarships scheme recently.

ASUU Ibadan Zone comprises University of Ibadan, University of Ilorin, Ladoke Akintola University, and Kwara State University.

The cheques were presented to beneficiaries at the Ladoke Akintola University (LAUTECH), Ogbomoso, by the former national treasurer of ASUU, Prof Ademola Aremu, Financial Secretary of ASUU, Professor Ade Adejumo, and Chairpersons from the Zone.
The Ibadan Zonal Coordinator,  Prof Oyebamiji Oyegoke, who announced the beneficiaries, said the union‘s leadership directed all chapters to institute the scholarship as a way of ensuring that Indigent but brilliant students are not denied quality education.
According to him, the national secretariat of the union is giving out scholarship worth 100, 000 naira per session to at least 73 students across all public universities while individual institutions also give awards to  Indigent students.
The financial secretary of ASUU, Prof Ade Adejumo, urged Nigerians, including, those who have stolen from the country  to support indigent students so that they can realise their full potentials and contribute to national development.

Adejumo said the union believed that being indigent should not be a reason not to go to school.
In his remarks, former national treasurer of the union, Prof Ademola Aremu, lamented that those who benefitted from scholarships and free education during their time are now the one underfunding education.
“it is a pity that Nigeria is about the only country that pays her lecturers very poorly. Nigerian professors after spending 10 years in professorial cadre earns about $800, even Republic of Benin pays around $2,000. Nigerian leaders only want to keep the poor down by denying them quality education to pave way for their children schooling abroad to come and rule them”,he said.
Present at the occasion were Professor Ayo Akinwole (UI), Dr Biodun Olaniran (LAUTECH), Dr Wasiu Raji (UNILORIN) and Shehu Salam (KWASU).

0/Post a Comment/Comments

Previous Post Next Post