JAMB Announces Five Best Performing Institutions, Awards 375m

The Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board (JAMB) on Thursday has announced and rewarded five best performing Nigeria institutions.

The board awarded the sum of N375million to the tertiary institutions.

The Minister of Education, Malam Adamu Adamu made this public in Abuja on Thursday afternoon at Second Edition of the National Tertiary Admissions Performance Merit Award for 2019 organized by The Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board (JAMB).

The minister said the rewards is part of JAMB intervention in helping the education sector in the country

Adamu said; ”In 2019, JAMB at the first edition of the programme, supported the tertiary institutions with the sum of N125 million and this year, the board is supporting the sector with the sum of N375 million.

“This is no doubt an excellent gesture, worthy of emulation.” 

He added that; ”I am aware that the board’s support for the education sector cuts across the Basic, Senior School and Tertiary Education through its Corporate Social Responsibility Agenda.

“The contributions to the education system should not be only limited or seem from the budgetary allocation of government to the sector”

“This does not negate the reality that Education is not receiving an equitable share of the national budget.”

Campus Verve learnt that the tertiary institutions that made the list include University of Ilorin (UNILORIN), Ahmadu Bello University (ABU), Federal University, Wukari, Ogun State Institute of Technology, Igbese.

Campus Verve also gathered that UNILORIN won two out of the fives awards namely “Most Subscribed Institution” and “Institution with Highest Number of Admitted International Students.”, ABU won the “Most National Institution in Admission of Candidates.”, Federal University, Wukari won the “Most Improved Institution in Gender Balance” while Ogun State Institute of Technology, Igbese won the “Most Compliant Institution” in following and keeping to guidelines of admission exercise.

The JAMB registrar Prof. Isiaq Oloyede while addressing public in his remark said the five mentioned institutions of the university would receive N75million each making a total sum of N375million.


Source: Daily gists

You may like these posts